Varan / caterpillar missile launcher
 Class:
  Fire support machine
 Type:
  Caterpillar self-propelled missile launcher
 Developer:
  Light & Heavy Cybernetic Machines Co.  Monoblock:    ---
 Mass:   5 tons
 Crew:    1 person
 Armament:
   -- Twin missile launcher MDB-17 for long-range missiles Thunder Arrow.
1   Extra armor plates
2   Missile launcher guides
3   Launcher hydraulic drive
4   Swinging support

Description / application in missions

This self-propelled missile launcher is a classic vehicle of fire support. Varan is equipped with long-range missiles so it threatens enemy forces already at a distant approach and its armor ensures the uninterrupted operation for a long time.

Varan is a strongly armored caterpillar fighting machine with guide rails for heavy missiles mounted on it. Actually this is a heavy self-propelled missile launcher. Slow-moving Varan isnt very dangerous at a short distance, but it is dreadful at long ranges. Varan is a classical machine of fire support. It covers actions of assault forces with its fire from a long distance. In contrast to other heavy machines, Varan isnt designed on the basis of the monoblock. This common, though strongly armored caterpillar machine is supplied with energy from the reactor of the same type as on other machines. Varans distinction is a powerful ballistic computer controlling the missile launcher. Thanks to this, a single person can operate the machine. Varan was developed at the very end of the war. There were only few cases of application of these machines in combat. For example, on Velian, the counterattack of the division of robo-infantry under the command of Marc Chang seemed at first suicidal, but it was crowned with success mostly because of the fact that three batteries of Varans were supporting the counterattack with their fire on the Empire attacking units. Usually self-propelled artillery is used to support with its fire bodies of troops like a battalion or larger. But strange though it may seem, Varan got a wide popularity during the Raid War, when by definition elements larger than a reinforced company didnt act. Evidently, Varans reliable armor and notable firepower had done its part many commanders preferred to include such a self-propelled launcher into their raid groups, so as to neutralize the opponents resistance from a long distance at once. It worth mentioning, though the firepower of Varan can impress anyone, this missile launcher is lacking in light antipersonnel weapons. This imperfection became particularly seen when Varans were applied not only for the fire support of large operations, but also included in raid groups where these missile launchers had often to fight in the first ranks of attackers.

The armament of the self-propelled missile launcher Varan:

-- Twin missile launcher MDB-17 for long-range missiles Thunder Arrow, produced by General Rocketry Tiranon Corporation. Actually the missiles Thunder Arrow are air-to-surface class, which were carried only by the shuttles for fire support of landing parties. The long-range missiles are the most powerful instruments of the Protectorate ground forces. The Empire has not got any mobile launching platforms similar to Varan. Like many other models of missile weaponry, the long-range missile is inefficient at short ranges its control unit switches on the detonators of the warhead only at a considerable distance from the launcher. But these missiles are able to cause much destruction.

All rights belong to Tehnolog Ltd. © "Tehnolog" 1994-2007. All rights reserved.
Reprinting or using of any materials without a special permit of the site administration is prohibited!

.

Варан/ гусеничная ракетная установка
 Класс:
  Техника огневой поддержки
 Тип:
  Самоходная гусеничная ракетная установка
 Разработчик:
  "Лайт энд Хэви Кибернетикал Машинз"  Моноблок:    ---
 Масса:   5,0 тонн
 Экипаж:    1 человек
 Вооружение:
   -- Спаренная пусковая установка
   MDB-17 для ракет дальнего действия    "Громовая стрела"
1  Плиты дополнительной брони
2  Направляющие для пуска ракет
3  Гидропривод пусковой установки
4  Поворотная опора

Описание/ использование в миссиях

Самоходная ракетная установка, классическая машина огневой поддержки. Варан оснащён ракетным комплексом дальнего действия, с которым он серьёзно угрожает силам противника ещё на дальнем подступе, а мощный броневой панцирь обеспечивает его бесперебойную работу в течение долгого времени.

"Варан" - это сильно бронированная гусеничная машина, оснащенная пусковой установкой для тяжелых ракет. Фактически - это тяжелая самоходная пусковая ракетная установка. "Варан" - это классическая машина огневой поддержки, он не слишком опасен в ближнем бою, но страшен на расстоянии. Своим огнём с дальней дистанции он "прикрывает" манёвры ударных сил. В отличие от остальных тяжелых боевых машин, "Варан" сконструирован не на основе моноблока. Эта обычная, хотя и сильно бронированная гусеничная машина, получает энергию от компактного реактора того же типа, что и на других машинах. Отличие "Варана" - это мощный баллистический компьютер, управляющий пуском ракет, благодаря чему, машину обслуживает всего один человек. "Варан" разработан в самом конце войны. Известно лишь несколько случаев применения этих машин в бою. Например, на Велиане, казавшаяся поначалу самоубийственной, контратака дивизии роботизированной пехоты Протектората под командованием Марка Чанга увенчалась успехом в основном благодаря тому, что три батареи "Варанов" поддержали контратаку своим огнём. Обычно самоходная артиллерия используется для того, чтобы поддерживать огнем наземные подразделения не меньше батальона. Но, как ни странно, "Варан" приобрел большую популярность во время Рейдовой Войны, когда действовали отряды не крупнее усиленной роты. Видимо, надежная броневая защита и уникальная огневая мощь "Варана" сделали свое дело. Многие командиры предпочитали иметь в составе рейдовой группы такую самоходку, чтобы сразу же, с большого расстояния, подавить сопротивление противника. Надо отметить, что, хотя ракетная мощь "Варана" способна впечатлить кого угодно, этой установке явно не хватает легкого противопехотного оружия. Этот недостаток стал особенно заметен, когда "Варанов" стали применять не только для огневой поддержки крупных войсковых операций, но и в составе рейдовых групп, где этим установкам зачастую приходилось сражаться в первых рядах атакующих.

Вооружение самоходной установки "Варан":

-- Спаренная пусковая установка MDB-17 для ракет дальнего действия "Громовая стрела" ("Thunder Arrow"), производства компании "Дженерал Рокетри Тиранон Корпорейшн". "Фактически, это тяжелые ракеты класса "воздух-земля", которые до сих пор устанавливались только на шаттлах огневой поддержки десанта. Ракеты дальнего действия - это самое мощное ударное средство наземных сил Протектората. У Империи нет мобильных наземных пусковых платформ, подобных "Варану". Как и многие образцы ракетного вооружения, дальнобойная ракета неэффективна на малых дистанциях - блок управления ракеты приводит детонаторы боеголовки в боевое состояние только на значительном удалении от пусковой установки. Но на большой дистанции эти ракеты способны произвести серьёзные разрушения.

Все права принадлежат ООО "Технолог". © "Технолог" 1994-2008. Все права защищены.
Перепечатка и использование любых материалов без специального разрешения администрации сайта запрещена!
...

.